Recommendations for a beginner telescope

Every year around Christmas and even throughout the year a question that is asked.

Recommendation for a telescope not incredibly expensive, but more than a toy?

Could you please advise me on what level of telescope to get a family with children as a starter telescope?

This is a hard question to answer since you can get different recommendations depending on who you ask. I would like to hear some of those recommendations from others. Would like to come up with a good guide that could be used to answer these questions. We recommend not to get a telescope from a department store due to quality issues. I have heard some say it would be better than nothing. I like Binoculars as a starter telescope.

Binoculars are always a good way to start out with before getting a telescope.

Getting Started in Amateur Astronomy - for COMPLETE BEGINNERS. Telescopes? Books? Binos? Part 1

For ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS - Part 2 - All about telescopes!

Review of your most HATED telescope - the Celestron PowerSeeker 127! How bad is it, and why?

This is a very good video it covers it really well.

Before buying anything please come out to some of our Club events or meeting to help make an informed decision.

3 Likes

I haven’t watched all the videos, so don’t know if he mentions it or not, but if anyone is interested in astrophotography, not solely optical, then I can now highly recommend the ZWO Seestar S50.

It’s small, light, easy to set up and take down in under 5 minutes, and can capture deep sky objects in a light polluted environment; AND inexpensive! Only $500 right now. The only thing you need besides the scope is a smart phone or tablet to control it and most folks already have one or more of those. You can download the app without having the scope, to check it out. Search for ZWO Seestar in your app store.